Greenschool Flag for Water - Scoil Naomh Áine NS

Go to content

Main menu:

Greenschool Flag for Water


We, Matthew Murphy and Katelyn Doyle from 6th class are part of the Green Schools Committee and we are honoured to be raising our third flag for water.

We began the process of getting our 3rd flag almost two years ago, when last year's committee was elected. A new committee was elected this year to continue the great work they had started.  All students in the school could vote for who they wanted to represent them.

We completed an environmental review to see how we use water in our school. We then worked together to come up with an Action Plan to improve how our school used and thought about how to use water.

We did a water walk to highlight how not all people have water on tap. Millions of people around the world have to walk many miles to get clean water. All the school dressed in blue for our Water Day and water based activities were enjoyed in every class.

We held competitions to make water themed bunting and create a Green Code. The winning code was 'Rathgarogue is oh so keen to keep our planet blue and green' .
Senior Infants, with some of last year's committee, went to Wexford Wild Fowl Reserve for a pond dipping session.

We went to Hotel Kilkenny to receive our Green Schools Flag. There were over 20 other schools there and it was a great day.
We want to take this opportunity to thank everybody who helped us to get this Green Schools Flag.

Last year's committee were Ewan Aspel, Anna Ryan, Ben Murphy, Conor Kavanagh, Milly Sutton, Jack Mc Quaid, Cormac O Neill, Ailidh Keevey, Conor Rossiter, Erin Gaffney, Lauren Phelan, Seán O Brien, Conor Doyle, Lily O Reilly, Caomhe Fitzgerald and Fionn Mac Eochaidh.
This year's committee are Amy Hendrick, Jack Barron, Bobby Stafford, Emma Kavanagh, Seán O Brien, Eva Marie Carey, Conor O Shea, Holly Bolger, Scott Johnston, Budgie Connors, Ruby Smith, Craig Hayden, Rian Murphy de las Casas and Ciara Furlong.

We also want to thank all the teachers that helped us, Miss O Neill, Miss O Connor, Miss Lyng, Miss Hanly and a special thank you to Miss Rossiter who put in so much hard work and effort to guide and lead us this year. Joan and Jimmy, who tirelessly work to create a safe and clean environment for us to come to school, are, as always, appreciated. Our caretaker Kieran was as always a tremendous help.

We also want to thanks Clíona Connolly from Wexford County Council for all of her assistance.

We really enjoyed the process of getting this flag we can safely say that all in Scoil Naomh Áine are more water smart now!
Our current oldest and youngest students, Lucy Hayden & James Murphy, were chosen to  raise our 3 rd Green Schools Flag for Water.

by Matthew Murphy and Katelyn Doyle

Back to content | Back to main menu